Personal tools
You are here: Home For Libraries A-B Accreditation

Accreditation and Standards

The application materials for FY16 will be available in early December 2014. Libraries will be notified of their status by e-mail. Deadline will be February 28, 2015.

You will need to reapply for the next fiscal year (FY16) if your current Accreditation or Tier Level status is due to expire on June 30, 2015. Email notifications will be sent to all directors as notification of your filing status in December of 2014.


5th edition of In Service to Iowa - The manual for Iowa Library Services' standards and accreditation program. It is used to document the condition of public library service in Iowa, to distribute Direct State Aid funding, and to meet statutory requirements. The link will take you to the an electronic (PDF) version of the manual. Two copies of the printed manual were sent to each library director. If you need more, you can purchase them for $3 each. Contact Fran Fessler to order extra copies. Please discard all previous drafts or editions.

Accreditation and Tier Status - FY15
- Accreditation and Tier Status of all public libraries as of May 30, 2015. Includes status expiration date. Updated regularly.

A library's accreditation and tier level status is good for three years.

  • Tier 3 libraries reapply every three years.
  • Tier 1 & 2 libraries reapply every three years. They may apply again before the three years has expired if they can improve their status.
  • Tier 0 libraries may apply each year to attain Tier 1-3 status. Once they have achieved Tier 1-3 status they need to reapply every three years.



Iowa Library Services documents the condition of public library service in Iowa (Code of Iowa (256.51 (j)) by requiring public libraries to submit accreditation reports.

Iowa’s public library accreditation program has been in place since 1986 based on In Service to Iowa:  Public Library Measure of Quality, 1985. The library community revised In Service to Iowa:  Public Library Measures of Quality in 1989, 1997 and 2004. A new revised 5th edition called In Service to Iowa: Public Library Standards was released in December of 2010.

Document Actions
Scott Dermont last modified Nov 21, 2014 03:49 PM