Personal tools
You are here: Home For Libraries C-D Databases

Databases for Iowans

Databases for Every Iowan!

Iowa Library Services is proud to provide access to the electronic databases EBSCOhost and OCLC FirstSearch.  Libraries must sign up for access to these products through  Iowa Library Services  to gain the discounts and added services that  Iowa Library Services  provides.

EBSCOhost

As previously announced, EBSCOhost has been selected as the statewide periodical and reference database that will be supported by  Iowa Library Services.   Iowa Library Services will continue to subsidize EBSCOhost for Iowa libraries to make it available to all Iowans through their libraries. As in past years, we will ask libraries to share in the cost. Since we are starting a new contract effective July 1, 2011, invoices will be mailed on or after July 1 with payment due after that date.  If your library currently participates in EBSCOhost, you don't need to do anything at this time. If your library does not participate in EBSCOhost, join by completing and returning the sign up form.

EBSCOhost Buying Group

Iowa Library Services is proud to offer buying groups for 7 additional databases through EBSCOhost.  These databases have special content valuable to the mission of libraries - from hobbies to auto repair to home improvement. Also they are especially priced to allow small libraries a chance to take advantage of these resources.  Click HERE for more information.

Learning Express Library

The 2012 legislature directed Iowa Workforce Development (IWD) to provide $150,000 in funding to Iowa Library Services/State Library “for the purpose of licensing an online resource which prepares persons to succeed in the workplace through programs which improve job skills and vocational test-taking abilities." Thanks to the funding from IWD, LearningExpress Library will be available at no charge to all Iowa public and academic libraries for all of 2013.

Use Learning Express in your library and  have your patrons enjoy free, unlimited access to interactive skill building courses in math, reading and writing, as well as a broad range of practice tests based on official exams such as the ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB Core, and EMT Basic, as well as firefighter, police officer, paramedic, Allied Healthcare, U.S. citizenship, postal worker, cosmetology, and real estate agent and broker exams. The service is available 24/7 from any Internet-enabled computer—in your library or at home.

The LearningExpress Library online platform provides over 770 of the most up-to-date test preparation and skill-building resources, helping both students and adults prepare for a wide range of academic and career oriented exams, as well as improve basic skills in reading, writing and math.  In addition, job-skills tutorials are available to assist in creating a resume, honing interviewing techniques, and improving business communications. Library patrons also have the option of selecting from more than 130 e-book titles to help learners of all ages prepare for success. The platform includes self-paced study, instant scoring and diagnostic feedback.

FirstSearch

FirstSearch provides electronic access to many databases covering a wide range of topics and formats.  Iowa Library Services pays for a statewide license for the FirstSearch Base Package which includes WorldCat as well as other databases. WorldCat is the most comprehensive and up-to-date bibliographic resource available.



Additional Information
  • EBSCOHost

    Information for libraries on EBSCOhost online resources.

Document Actions
Webmaster last modified Dec 19, 2013 11:16 AM