Personal tools
You are here: Home For Libraries C-D Databases EBSCOHost FAQ for EBSCOhost

FAQ for EBSCOhost

 

Frequently Asked Questions about EBSCOhost

 

What is EBSCOhost?

 

EBSCOhost is a web-based product with full-text periodicals, newspapers and reference tools. It includes several databases which can be searched separately or together. Databases range from consumer health to business to literary collections. EBSCO owns EBSCOhost.

 

What will I be charged to subscribe to the EBSCOhost databases?

 

Iowa Library Services will partially subsidize the cost of this product, but all libraries will be charged a subscription fee. This fee is based on a base cost plus an additional fee based on population for public libraries and FTEs for academic and special libraries. Call the State Library for current charges.

 

When will I be invoiced for EBSCO?

 

Invoices will be mailed to current participants around June/July. Libraries should return the invoice with payment to the State Library. Libraries that wish to join may fill out the Sign-up Sheet and then will be invoiced by Iowa Library Services when the Sign Up is received.

 

Can I sign up for EBSCOhost at a later date?

 

Libraries may join any time during the year. Just complete the EBSCO Participation Sign-up Sheet and forward payment to Iowa Library Services. The subscription fee will NOT be pro-rated.

 

Is remote access for my customers available through EBSCO?

 

Yes, remote access can be provided several ways. The URL, plus user id and password authentication can be provided to customers. Libraries may choose an authorization plan in which customers use library card numbers. Some libraries have special software that sets a secure web site with a referring URL from their web page. You decide the best way for your library to authenticate remote users. It is necessary that any remote use be authenticated.

 

Can I use IP authentication to log in at my library?

 

Yes, all libraries with direct networked Internet connections may use computer IP authentication. Libraries will be able to add and delete their own IP addresses through their individual EBSCO administrative files after the initial signup.  Call your Internet service provider and find out if you have a floating IP. Floating IP addresses do not work with IP authentication.  You may have to pay for static IP service.

 

Will there be training opportunities?

 

Iowa Library Services provides online training throughout the year. These training opportunities are located in the Continuing Education Catalog.  You can also check with your District Office about in-person training.

 

What about publicity for EBSCO?

 

Libraries will be made aware of publicity materials such as bookmarks, table tents and news releases as they are developed. There are currently materials available on the Iowa Library Services web site and the EBSCO support website.

Are children’s databases available?

Middle Search and Primary Search are databases specifically geared to elementary students. These databases can be accessed through the Searchasaurus interface, which has a dinosaur theme and is attractive to children or through the regular EBSCOhost interface and will return the same results. EBSCO recently released the Kids Search (K-5) and Student Resource Center (6-12) that are also directed to students and contain Middle Search and Primary Search.

 

Will usage figures for my library be available?

 

Yes, usage figures for individual libraries will be available online. There are several reports available through the EBSCOadmin which indicate session usage, database usage, title usage and more.

 

Can I customize the look of my library’s search screen?

 

Each participating library will have its own account and have access to EBSCOadmin. For example, libraries may choose the look of their search screens, set the order of the available databases, and arrange that only full-text results are returned

 

Can I change my userid to match a universal agency id we are using?

 

Yes, it is possible to change your userid, by contacting EBSCO technical support at 800-758-5995. It is also possible to add and delete userids through the ebscoadmin.


Is EBSCOhost available in other languages?

 

Yes, users may translate the instructions and interface buttons into Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Korean, Japanese, Simplified Chinese or Traditional Chinese. In addition, users may translate HTML fulltext

into French, German, Portuguese or Spanish. EBSCO states that the translation is 70-80% accurate.

More questions?  Contact your District Office, or Jay Peterson:  jay.peterson@lib.state.ia.us

 


Document Actions
Jay Peterson last modified Mar 15, 2012 02:52 PM