FirstSearch
FirstSearch is a service of OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) and is provided to Iowa libraries by the State Library of Iowa. Headquartered in Dublin, Ohio, OCLC is a nonprofit, computer library service and research organization. FirstSearch is an online reference search tool that delivers high quality content from WorldCat and other respected databases.
First Search FY2012:
The State Library is inviting all Iowa libraries to participate in the First Search database program at no charge to your library. FirstSearch is an online reference search tool that delivers high quality content from WorldCat and other respected databases.
WorldCat, in particular, is useful to all libraries. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date bibliographic resource available enabling you and your customers to find records for items owned by libraries both in-state and out-of-state. Other databases included are listed toward the end of the page.
FirstSearch is provided to Iowa libraries through a statewide license entirely paid for by the State Library. OCLC has eliminated all per-search third party databases from its FirstSearch offerings and has also eliminated block searching. This means your library will not incur any additional charges for using the databases included in the FirstSearch base package. If you have any questions about how to access a database that has been offered in the past through FirstSearch contact Jay Peterson at the State Library and he can help you track down the publisher of that database.
To participate, sign and return the FirstSearch Agreement as described below:
1. Print and read a copy of the FirstSearch Agreement Letter FY2012
2. Sign the agreement (signed by library director or other signatory authority).
3. Send the agreement to the State Library by mail or fax: 515-281-6191 or scan it and e-mail it to: toni.blair@lib.state.ia.us.
4. Return it to the State Library by July 15th, 2011.
Please review the OCLC FirstSearch Group Member Terms and Conditions as these stipulations remain in effect. The Terms and Conditions can be found at: http://firstsearch.oclc.org/help/en/fslegal.html
Questions concerning FirstSearch should be directed to: Jay Peterson at the State Library, 515-281-4499, 800-248-4483 or jay.peterson@lib.state.ia.us
Databases: The following databases are included in the State Library of Iowa's base package subscription to FirstSearch:
- Archive Grid
- CAMIO - Catalog of Museum & Art Images
- Clase and Periodica
- Electronic Books Database
- ERIC
- GPO Monthly Catalog
- MEDLINE
- OAIster
- OCLC ArticleFirst
- OCLC FirstSearch ECO
- OCLC PapersFirst
- OCLC ProceedingsFirst
- World Almanac
- WorldCat
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
In addition to database access, the group subscription coverage makes a library’s holdings in WorldCat discoverable in WorldCat.org and in WorldCat Local. The Base Package subscription also gives libraries the option to register for the CONTENTdm Quick-Start package at no additional charge. Find out about this product HERE.
This program is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by Iowa Library Services/State Library of Iowa.

