Personal tools
You are here: Home Library Development Databases FirstSearch
Document Actions

FirstSearch

FirstSearch is a service of OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) and is provided by the State Library of Iowa. Headquartered in Dublin, Ohio, OCLC is a nonprofit, computer library service and research organization. FirstSearch is a web-based information system for searching online databases.

Unlimited Searching

The following databases are included in the State Library of Iowa's subscription to FirstSearch. Searching in these databases will result in citations only. Some citations may provide links to full text articles available in other databases but will cost a library five searches for each full text article that is viewed.  There will be no charge to your library for searching:

  • WorldCat
  • WorldCat Dissertations
  • ArticleFirst
  • Clase and Periodica
  • ECO bibliographic only
  • EBooks
  • ERIC
  • GPO Monthly Catalog
  • Medline
  • PapersFirst
  • ProceedingsFirst
  • World Almanac

Additional Information
Related Sites
  • Log into FirstSearch

    FirstSearch login screen. It requires that you know userid/password

  • What is FirstSearch

    FirstSearch at a glance; benefits and features

  • On-Line Guided Tour

    This tour will give you a quick overview of some of FirstSearch's primary screens, including basic and advanced searches, user customization, search results and record display.

  • FirstSearch Periodical Title Search

    Type in a journal title to see if this title is included in a FirstSearch database.

Last modified August 17, 2007 01:14 PM
« December 2008 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31